Community Forum

Forum Home  /  Ask Firecareers!  /  Freaking out!

Freaking out!

Okay I know this has been posted a bunch but i will feel better if you address my situation. I am currently taking classes to recieve my firefighter 1 cert. and now that i am reading these posts, my background is starting to matter. When i was 15 i was convicted of a class c misdimeanor which they said i think will come off my record. i paid restitution/did community service. I have also been convicted of a m.i.p. of alcohol. im not sure how serious this is but it is also supposed to be off my record this year because i paid restitution. I have smoked weed once when i was 18. im 19 now. thats everything that has ever happened. is it even worth going for it?

Until they drag you kicking and screaming from the testing process, you can, should - and must persevere. It's not about you - it's about *them* saying yes or no.

Let me be blunt: If the thought of quitting is anywhere, and I mean anywhere in your mind, you are not of the correct mindset to undertake the challenges that lie ahead. Shake it off. Get rid of any mental and emotional baggage - and get ready to kick some ***!

Train, learn, excel - harder than you've ever been able to imagine. But don't you dare quit! You're not simply training for the fire service my friend... you're training for life!

Brian

Please no e-mail. Public replies only. Thank you!
This message was edited by lafdpso on 11-28-02 @ 2:47 AM

Easily solved... Your misdemeanor C was committed when you were a minor.. This will not, or should not show up on your adult record. In addition, it can be sealed, and there are restrictions on what the Fire Depts can ask you, and there are things that you can say to answer them without demonstrating that they ever happened. Check with someone who is more knowledgable about juvenile criminal records to get the specifics.