Community Forum

Forum Home  /  Ask Firecareers!  /  Uniforms at Interviews

Uniforms at Interviews

Hey all,

I am currently a Call Firefighter (Paid-Call) for LA County. My question is. . . Would it be wise to wear my LA County uniform to interviews? I have talked to my fire tech instructors and some regular FF's who say its a good idea. What do you think?
Keep Up The Good Work,
CFF Bollar
Engine 278

I'll offer my personal opinion and say no. I don't have any scientific evidence to offer you about it being detrimental, but it just seems to rub *me* the wrong way in most Fire Department entry-level interviews.

While I will allow Captain Bob and Captain Paul to offer you their well-researched insight, I would opine that you'll be able to mention the fact that you are a call-firefighter in some manner of your conversation without trying to "over-sell" the issue.

Once members of the oral board learn you are a call firefighter, they will naturally create their own mental picture of you in uniform, and may likely inquire about how it has prepared you for the job.

If you search the archives here, I am confident that you will find some excellent advice and links to information about how you might best dress for success. I do recall Captain Bob going into great detail about the negative aspects of some rings, pins, tie tacks and costume jewelery, especially those that assert affiliation or membership.

Again, this is just my personal opinion. YMMV.

Brian

Please no e-mail. Public replies only. Thank you!
This message was edited by lafdpso on 11-19-03 @ 1:38 PM

Brian,
Thanks for the advice. To be honest it didn't sit right with me either, I felt like "Why would the members of Fire Dept. 'A' be interested in me being a member of Fire Dept. 'B'?" With the exception of prior experience, of course, but as you said that would probably come up during the interview anyway. Thanks again!
Keep Up The Good Work,
CFF Bollar
Engine 278