Community Forum

Forum Home  /  Ask Firecareers!  /  CDF or Reserves?

CDF or Reserves?

Whats the best option for getting some firefighter experience under my belt?

I've applied for both CDF and Reserves this year. I have interviews for Humbolt and Mendocino County and am still waiting to hear back from the Reserves.

If I'm lucky enough to have all three offered to me, what would you guys suggest I take?

*Edit*
I have no firefighting experience under my belt except for a couple ride alongs in my home town. This is also where I would be a Reserve.
This message was edited by cultex on 2-17-05 @ 6:20 PM

In SoCal CDF FFI's work 96 hour work weeks, with the opportunity to be gone for much longer on strike teams.....but you get paid. Reserves normally don't get paid, yet get to really see how city station life is like. Depending on where you want to end up, is how your decision will be made. Not knocking CDF'ers, but Schedule B (wildland) station life is nothing like working for a city department. Not that city department life is better, just totally different. CDF is alot more laidback, their hiring process is a joke. They have good people, but they primarily end up with all the dumbass*s that could not get hired by a CITY department. I have worked around both as a reserve/volunteer. Now that I have a career position with a city, I am glad I never got wrapped into CDF, either schedule A or B. Just an opinion.
I LOVE MY JOB!