Community Forum

Forum Home  /  Ask Firecareers!  /  Wanting a FF career and questions

Wanting a FF career and questions

First off I would like to introduce myself. I am 21 years old. I graduated in 2002 from my local High school, and immediately started taking courses at a local community college in my area for Criminal Justice. I loved the program but my families business got in the way of my education. So I then stopped taking courses and am working full time(managing) at my fathers shop.

I recently wanted to pursue a career in firefighting. The written test will be assigned in April of 05'. I am not sure how to go about this process. I also was informed that I can apply for this test 3 month prior, which I intend on doing. I recently purchased the Norman Hall's firefighter Exam Preparation Book for $15.00

If anyone could give me some incite on how to go about pursuing this career that would be much appreciated. For example, should I be applying to a/several department before I apply for this exam? Should I start taking courses at a college for Emergency Services Technology? Any information would help.

Thanks in advance!

I would suggest that you post this question in the "Open Forum" section and you may receive more responses.

This website is a great start. Get your education...EMT and then Paramedic school is the fastest route in but don't stop there. Get a B.S. or B.A. in something that is transferable to other careers. Start looking for local volunteer fire departments and take every FF test you qualify for. At first there wil be only a few...as you get more education and certifications there will be tons.

For the test, work on mechanical aptitude, `read`ing and math (fractions plus the basics). ARCO puts out a good book...look into geting it and set time to study. Also, start woking on upper body strength...females seem to have a difficult time with some of the PATs due to upper body strength

Good Luck