Community Forum

Forum Home  /  Spouse/Support/Family  /  spouse support

spouse support

I am writing to let people know how important support from your spouse is during the pursuit of a fire career. This might seem long winded but please bare with me. I read a lot of posts and I talk a lot with new firefighters and wives about this incredible career. I have been a firefighter for 8 years, I have worked with 2 departments and moved my family 6 hours from our home town to get my dream job. Now trust me when I say this my wife was not very excited about this major move in our new life together, in fact she hated the idea and I believe she had some resentment toward me. My wife is a teacher and she had a great job in the Long Beach school district we were renting a small house in long beach near the beach and her commute was short and life was great. I was in paramedic school and was basically making no money. My new bride knew how badley I wanted to be a firefighter so she really had no problems supporting us until I could get hired. That was until I did. Like I said I recieved a job offer in Northern Cal which I was not about to turn down. We went back and forth about our new move ahead and she was not happy that I would consider moving us to a new city where she or I new noone and she would not have a job. We were leaving a comfort zone to an unknown zone. My wife knew that my first year would be shaky being on probation. Our first 4 months were difficult being that I was hired in June and right at the biggining of fire season. I loved the fact that I was thrown right in and was sent on several strike teams out of county and was living the "dream" of finally being a firefighter. But one thing I did not recognize was that my wife was miserable at home, she had no friends and we did not live in the city I worked in so meeting other wives was difficult. The people that she taught with in her new job did not understand her lifestyle because they were not married or not