Community Forum

Forum Home  /  Ask Firecareers!  /  Getting Started

Getting Started

How is it going? I was wondering if anyone had any info about getting started. I am currently a senior at the University of North Carolina and I am majoring in Political Science. I am also an officer in the Army National Guard. I was wondering if these can help me in the hiring process. I was also told that to have a seroius chance of being hired, I should have my FF1 certification, my EMT cert and my Paramedic Cert. I am moving back to the Los Angeles area after I graduate in May and I was wondering who offers these courses and how long these courses usually take to complete. Any info would be great. Thanks.

It sounds like you've got just enough information to have an idea of what is going to be expected of you. In `order`, you should probably work on your EMT first (since it is usually the quickest to get - anywhere from 3 weeks to 5 months, depending on the school), simultaneously start working on getting your firefighter 1 (in California you have to have the education portion which is usually obtained by going through an academy and having the FF1 packet signed off AND then completing your experience portion either through 6 months of paid experience or 12 months of volunteer experience) and getting your Paramedic license.