Community Forum

Forum Home  /  Ask Firecareers!  /  New to California

New to California

I just moved to California from Missouri a few weeks ago. I have been a rual firefighter for 5 yrs. now, and have First Responder, Auto rescue, Basic firefighting skills, and ground operations safety certification through the University of Missouri - Columbia. Where do I go now?? Will any of my certifications transfer? How do I get my foot in the door? Do I have a chance even though I am not EMT certified?? :quest: ANY help is GREATLY GREATLY appreciated.
As long as you have memories, yesterday remains, ...As long as you have hope,.... tomorrow awaits!!

Sounds like your on the right track. I would suggest that you
just begin testing. While you are testing, look into some of the
private or public (Junior Colleges) entities that offer the EMT
class. California will accept National Registry EMT. The other
certifications probably won't help you unfortunately. They are
good foundation builders that you can expand on.

Most of the fire agencies in California do require EMT, but
that doesn't preclude you from testing while your getting it. I
suggest test, test and when you get tired of testing, then test
some more. It will do nothing but help you.

-
Curt Cozad
Spokesperson/Liaison
FIREHIREŽ Inc.
(800) 755-5891
"Where Your Fire Service
Career Begins!"?

Welcome to California.